Inglés Esencial 2

Valparaíso from Viña del Mar

My dog Pip in Viña del Mar, view of Valparaíso

Welcome to the second installment of Inglés Esencial, a series of posts I’m writing to help mi suegra y mi cuñada learn basic English for a trip they’re planning to Europe. They have requested to learn “a few simple English phrases” for survival. We’ll see where the series takes us.

Inglés Esencial 2

Hello. I am…

Hello. (Hola) [jelo]

I am Maria Isabel. (Soy Maria Isabel) [ai am…]

I am from Chile. (Soy de Chile) [ai am fram…]

This is my daughter Lorena. (Ella es mi hija Lorena) [this iz mai datur…]

Hello. (Hola) [helo]

I am Lorena. (Soy Lorena) [ai am…]

This is my mother Maria Isabel. (Ella es mi madre Maria Isabel) [this iz mai mathur…]

We are from South America. (Somos de América del Sur) [oui ar fram sauth…]

11 [ileven] eleven

12 [tuelv] twelve

13 [thirtin] thirteen

14 [fortin] fourteen

15 [fiftin] fifteen

16 [sikstin] sixteen

17 [seventin] seventeen

18 [eitin] eighteen

19 [naintin] nineteen

20 [tuanti] twenty

Mother = madre

Daughter = hija

Bathroom = baño

South America = América del Sur

I am = soy / estoy

We are = somos / estamos

Is there…? = ¿Hay…?

Where is… = ¿Dónde está…?

The = el/la

A = un/una

My = mi

This = esto/esta/este

(She [shi] = ella)

From = de

Diccionario de pronunciación: http://www.howjsay.com/

Diccionario: http://www.wordreference.com/

###

About sarahjpurdy

I am a writer, editor, English teacher, and Spanish student living in Valparaíso, Chile, where I teach English at the Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María. I also telecommute to the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR), where I have worked as a marketing publications writer and editor since 2004. Prior to joining UNR, I worked as a journalist, editing and writing features and news stories for the Reno Gazette-Journal. I earned a master’s degree and a bachelor’s degree in English literature from UNR, where I was chosen for a graduate research assistantship in Victorian literature and graduated with a 4.0/4.0 cumulative GPA. I also taught at UNR for three semesters as a discussion leader for cross-disciplinary Core Humanities 201 and 202 courses, which examine Western literature, history, and culture from Mesopotamia and Ancient Greece through the Enlightenment and Industrial Revolution to World War II, the postcolonial era, and postmodernity. For eight months prior to moving to Chile in February 2011, I volunteered as ESL tutor for the ESL In-Home Program of Northern Nevada. In fall 2010 I earned a 50-hour TEFL Certificate from the University of Arizona and a 30-hour Social Media Marketing Certificate from UNR, and completed a graduate TESOL course through UNLV.
This entry was posted in English, Inglés and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

