We’re not fighting! ¡No estamos peleando!

(Abajo la versión en Español)

“¡No estamos peleando!”

This was tío Mario’s refrain last Thursday night at Diego Pizza in Viña. I was sitting at the edge of the vortex of voices arguing passionately about the quality and affordability of education in Chile and many other subjects. Mario’s repeated reminder to me that night that Chileans have strong opinions and like to express them reminded me of many other occasions on which I have been assured by my gracious hosts that it is not inappropriate or rude to yell across the table, for example, that your uncle couldn’t be more wrong about the quality of lab equipment at one of Chile’s most prestigious engineering schools in comparison to lab equipment available at some more affordable U.S. universities.

I am often lost as the voices and subjects overlap and discussion escalates, but usually at intervals someone kindly stops to remind me that this is not a fight, and to pull me back into the discordant chorus of voices, one register of which I can usually, hopefully, follow. I assured tío Mario that night as I have assured others that for me it is refreshing to witness a table of well informed, well educated people speaking rationally and passionately about social and political issues. This kind of discussion is not as common in the U.S., and I love it. It reminds me of college seminars. Of course, one of the leading voices in these debates is usually my husband Alonso, who, as anyone who knows him can attest, loves a good discussion.

That night at Diego Pizza we had come from Parque del Mar cemetery in Concón, where we had spent two days receiving scores of colleagues, friends, and family members who had come to pay their respects and express their sincere love and admiration for mi suegro, Víctor Ilych Jaques González.

Tío Mario’s refrain brought me back to an asado two months earlier at tío David’s house near Quilpué, where the discussion ranged from the necessity of continuing education and certification for Chilean architects and engineers to the quality of healthcare in Chile to Piñera to Peru to dentistry to legendary Mapuche warrior Galvarino and beyond. Tío David assured me that day that no one was fighting and that intense conversation of that kind was characteristically Chilean. I expressed my understanding and approval in broken Spanish, as I tried to do last week in Viña.

David, Maria Fernanda, Diego, Victor, Maria Isabel, Alonso, y yo

There was another voice at the table at tío David’s house that was missing in Viña, a quiet yet resonant voice whose owner leaned in at moments to confide in me about the complexities of the Chilean character with a wry smile and a warm confidentiality that made me feel like part of the joke, as only the best satirists can do. “Sarah, there is something else you should know about Chileans: We are experts in almost everything.” That was Victor, and his voice at the table at tío David’s is the one I missed in Viña, the one whose loss to me I didn’t possess the words to describe.

It was Victor who gave me my first taste of lúcuma, tuna, and chirimoya. He welcomed me to Chile and to his family with grace, charm, and impeccable manners, speaking to me in English, and slowly and clearly explaining Chilean customs, history, geography, and cuisine in Spanish. He showed me Chile through the eyes of a gentleman. He had a sense of humor of exactly the right dryness for my wicked taste. When I was deciding whether I would move to Chile, I thought of Victor, who, for me, was the epitome of the best of Chilean characteristics: educated, patient, introverted yet gracious, welcoming, respectful, kind, quietly great. He was the kind of man who doesn’t seek attention, but whose wisdom, heart, and work ethic draw people to him. So many came to mourn Victor, all of whom knew someone slightly different, and all of whom loved him.

I will always feel him near me as I watch his hands cutting chirimoya for me on the patio in Limache after the first astounding almuerzo I shared with his family there, as he describes the characteristics of the different kinds of Chilean fruit I will encounter here. I will remember him leaning in to tell me, eyes full of mischief, that Chileans are experts in everything. I will miss him at the table when everyone is not fighting.

Diego, Maria Isabel, Lorena, Alonso y Victor en Limache

“¡No estamos peleando!”

Éste fue el estribillo repetido por tío Mario el jueves pasado a Diego Pizza en Viña. Yo estaba sentado al borde del vórtice de voces debatiendo apasionadamente sobre la calidad y el precio de la educación universitaria en Chile, en medio de varias temas de discusión. El aviso repetido de Mario esa noche que los Chilenos tienen opiniones fuertes que les gustan expresar me recordó de las otras ocasiones en que he sido asegurada por mis huéspedes gentiles que no es impropio, por ejemplo, gritar al otro lado de la mesa que tu tío no podría estar mas equivocado con respecto a la calidad de material de laboratorio usado en una universidad de ingeniería muy de prestigio en Chile en comparación con materiales de laboratorio disponible en universidades mas económicos en los Estados Unidos.

A veces – pues, muchas veces – me siento perdida mientras las voces y temas traslapan y la discusión intensifica, pero generalmente, a intervalos, alguien amablemente pausa para asegurarme que no es una lucha, y para tirarme otra vez dentro del coro discordante de voces, un registro de que usualmente puedo entender. Esa noche in Viña, dije a tío Mario lo que he dicho a los demás, que para mi, es refrescante ver gente instruida y bien informada hablando racionalmente y apasionadamente sobre temas políticas y sociales. Esta especie de discusión es menos común en los Estados Unidos, y me encanta. Pero, por supuesto, una de las voces mas fuertes en estos debates es lo de mi marido Alonso, a quien, como saben todos que le conocen, le gusta harto un debate caldeado.

Esa noche a Diego Pizza, habíamos ido de Parque del Mar cementerio en Concón, donde habíamos pasado dos días recibiendo un sinnúmero de colegas, amigos, y familia quien habían ido para pagar respecto y para expresar su cariño y admiración en honor de mi suegro, Víctor Ilych Jaques González.

El estribillo repetido de tío Mario me recordó de un asado dos meses antes, a la casa de tío David en el campo cerca de Quilpué, donde la discusión fue de la necesidad para formación permanente y certificaciones anuales para arquitectos a la calidad de la atención de salud en Chile, a Piñera, a Perú, a la odontología, a guerrero Mapuche leyendario Galvarino, y más allá. David me aseguró ese día que nadie estaba peleando, y que conversaciones intensas así fueron característicamente Chileno. Expresé mi comprensión y aprobación en castellano mas quebrado que galleta de soda, así como traté de expresar en Viña la semana pasada.

Pero hubo otra voz a la mesa de tío David hace dos meses que faltaba en Viña – una voz tranquilo pero resonante cuya poseedor inclinaba hacia mi de vez en cuando para confiar a mi sobre las complejidades del carácter Chileno con una sonrisita irónica e intimidantemente cariñosa que me hizo sentir como parte del juego, del modo como solo los mejores satíricos pueden hacer. “Sarah, hay algo que tu debes saber de Chilenos. Somos expertos en todo.” Fue Víctor, y su voz a la mesa a la casa de tío David fue lo que me faltó en Viña, lo cuya perdida no poseí las palabras de describir.

Fue Víctor que me dio mi primera prueba de lúcuma, tuna, y chirimoya. Él me recibió a Chile y a su familia con gracia, carisma, y cortesía impecable, hablándome en Inglés, y me explicando en castellano claro y lento los costumbres, la historia, la geografía, y la cocina de Chile. Él me mostró Chile al través de los ojos de un caballero. Él tenía un sentido de humor a la sequedad exactamente de mi gusto. Cuando estaba decidiendo si me gustaría vivir en Chile, pensé en Víctor, que, para mi, fue la personificación de las mejores de las características Chilenas: instruido, introvertido, cortés, paciente, respetuoso, bien informado, benévolo, sigilosamente grande. Fue el especie de caballero que nunca solicita atención, pero cuyo juicio, alma, y ética traen la gente para él. Mucha gente vino para honrar a Víctor, cada uno que conocía a un Víctor un poco distinto, y todos que le querían harto.

Siempre lo sentiré cercano de mi, mientras veo sus manos cortando chirimoya para mí en el patio en Limache después del primer y asombroso almuerzo que compartí con su familia allí, y mientras él me describía los sabores y características de las varias frutas yo encontraría aquí. Lo recordaré inclinándose hacia mi para me dijo, ojos llenos de pillería, que Chilenos son expertos en todo. Le me echaré de menos en la mesa cuando todos no están peleando.

About sarahjpurdy

I am a writer, editor, English teacher, and Spanish student living in Valparaíso, Chile, where I teach English at the Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María. I also telecommute to the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR), where I have worked as a marketing publications writer and editor since 2004. Prior to joining UNR, I worked as a journalist, editing and writing features and news stories for the Reno Gazette-Journal. I earned a master’s degree and a bachelor’s degree in English literature from UNR, where I was chosen for a graduate research assistantship in Victorian literature and graduated with a 4.0/4.0 cumulative GPA. I also taught at UNR for three semesters as a discussion leader for cross-disciplinary Core Humanities 201 and 202 courses, which examine Western literature, history, and culture from Mesopotamia and Ancient Greece through the Enlightenment and Industrial Revolution to World War II, the postcolonial era, and postmodernity. For eight months prior to moving to Chile in February 2011, I volunteered as ESL tutor for the ESL In-Home Program of Northern Nevada. In fall 2010 I earned a 50-hour TEFL Certificate from the University of Arizona and a 30-hour Social Media Marketing Certificate from UNR, and completed a graduate TESOL course through UNLV.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We’re not fighting! ¡No estamos peleando!

  1. Tracy López says:

    I really liked this post. It stirred up many of my own memories. “No estamos peleando!” … I have heard that before too 🙂 Nothing like a good, passionate conversation amongst opinionated, educated yet respectful people.

  2. Maria Isabel says:

    Mi querida nuera”gringa” ,asi presento a Sarah a mis amigos y a Sarah no le molesta sabe que es con cariño,gracias por entender y apreciar a tu familia chilena y captar la esencia de Victor,” lo echaremos de menos cuando no estemos peleando”

    • sarahjpurdy says:

      Gracias a ti, Maria Isabel, por todo – y hay mucho. Cada dia aprendo y entiendo mas sobre la cultura, las costumbres, y sobre todo, la cocina de Chile, gracias a ti y a tu familia. Gracias por aceptarme y por ayudarme a acostumbrarme a Chile. Me encanta ser tu nuera gringa.

Leave a Reply

